The power of your pennies.

Over the past few years we’ve all had too many of those “Oh for God’s sake” moments where you’re watching and enjoying something and then suddenly a political message is brutalised into your leisure time. Obscenely overpaid and pampered athletes taking the knee and disrespecting the national anthem, watching a racially re-balanced production of Macbeth where white people appear to have been in the minority in a medieval Scotland, hitherto innocuous charities suddenly and inexplicably wielding the sword of the social justice warrior or listening to the brainless lectures of some brainless actor or equally brainless actress on a chat show you used to quite enjoy.

At end of day, all those pastimes come under the heading of what’s called discretionary spending. You’re not obliged to buy a ticket for that match, you don’t have to buy a subscription to that channel and you certainly don’t have to give any charity a donation. That’s why when organisations who’re the beneficiaries of your disposable income disrespect you or your values, it’s easy to turn off the flow of money from your pocket to them. Since they’ve ruined your enjoyment of what used to have been a pleasant pastime, you’ll find other ways of squandering your spare cash – perhaps even saving it.

I do keep a track of things happening in the financial world and on nearly a daily basis I read of the results of that simple process. The blood splashes are all over the company reports. The once mighty CNN has dropped behind a children’s channel in the ratings, the NYT circulation numbers are in freefall, viewing figures of all sports that went woke are in the toilet, all last year’s Hollywood woke blockbusters were a financial dumpster fire for their investors and the recently ended winter Olympic games in China were a catastrophe for the China appeasers who’d paid vast sums of money for the privilege of sticking their tongues up China’s butt hole just to get the broadcasting rights.

What’s commonly referred to as the genocide games wasn’t helped by the defection of several born and bred American athletes who decided to compete for China and did win some gold for them. I’d guess the gold around their necks wasn’t the only gold they got. Betraying your country can be very profitable these days.

Twice a year I do this personal financial review which mainly involves updating a domestic budget spreadsheet. We’re talking very modest numbers here, not even the GDP of Lichtenstein. It’s a chore but I know that unless you manage your money, it’ll start to manage you. Part of it is small donations to charities I’m fond of who automatically get money every year via a standing order. One I always gave money to was the Salvation Army or the Sally Army as we used to call it. I always associated it with Christmas, snow, a ringing handbell, carols and hymns sung by smartly uniformed men and women with someone out in front rattling a collection can vigorously.

Beyond that rather nostalgic view of them I’d seen the basic help they’d provided to otherwise abandoned individuals who were on their last legs. As the usual badly lapsed Catholic, as Brendan Behan ambiguously termed it, I always admired their Christian fortitude in the face of the scorn of more enlightened whelps who’d never actually seen a hungry day in their life. I’d cancelled my donation to them upon their publication of a missive titled “Let’s talk about .. Racism”. It actually said that their white supporters should make sincere apologies for their race and the past sins of the church.

I won’t exhaustively enumerate how many of my sensibilities it offended but making judgements about people based purely on the colour of their skin and joining in the fashionable woke lynch mob of Christianity would be somewhere near the top of the list. However, they appear to have seen the light. Alleluia brothers and sisters. They are withdrawing the guide for review with what is a very mealy-mouthed statement.

It’s full of PR bollocks like “By openly discussing these issues, we always hope to encourage the development of a more thoughtful organization that is better positioned to support those in need” and preachy “We have done our best to provide accurate information, but unfortunately, some have chosen to ignore those efforts. At the same time, International Headquarters realized that certain aspects of the guide may need to be clarified. Consequently, for both reasons, the International Social Justice Commission has now withdrawn the guide for appropriate review”.

What that climb down actually means is that too many people like me have simply decided they don’t like the latter day enlightened version of the Sally Army and donations have just dried up. They can do all the “appropriate reviewing” the want, but until they give a full and unreserved apology for ever issuing such a for once genuinely racist document in the first place, they can take their bell and shove it up their ass.

That’s the power of all those little pennies swinging into action. Never hesitate to use it.

©Pointman

Related articles by Pointman:

Blowback? You ain’t seen nothing yet.

Click for a list of other articles.

Comments
10 Responses to “The power of your pennies.”
  1. philjourdan says:

    I was a big donor to the Sally Army (as you call it) as they make sure that over 90% of your donations go to the intended purpose – one of the highest rates of any charity.

    But not this past year. I see I am not alone. I did not stand on a soap box and decry their “wokism”, I just walked past the bell ringers, stopped sending checks – I ignored them.

    The silent majority is speaking with their money. And until the idiots learn that the silent majority does not belong to the woke twitter mob, they will continue to go broke.

    Like

  2. I have volunteered as a “bell ringer” for 4 years and taken my granddaughter along for 2.
    This past year I signed up but when I heard their wokeism I cancelled. I also cancelled my donation.

    Like

  3. Russ Wood says:

    I’d always supported the “Sally Ann” , to the extent that when we moved to a retirement home, our surplus furniture and household goods went straight to them. The whole point was that they tried to USE what they were given, rather than sell the stuff for money. The last couple of years, though, I’m hanging on to my (shrinking) spare cash.
    What is it about genuine ‘worthy’ causes (such as the RNLI and RSPB) that they get taken over by ‘wokeists’? Maybe it’s the same inertia of ‘regular’ people that allows American school boards to go away from the basic ‘teaching’ concepts?

    Like

  4. E.M.Smith says:

    Oddly, I always stuffed a couple of bucks in any kettle I passed. Until they went woke. Now I just walk on by. Didn’t think about how many others were doing the same… Have not watched an NFL Game since Kapper took the knee. Have bought a lot more Goya products and 3 My Pillows though 🙂

    Like

  5. another ian says:

    And on a bigger scale

    “Disney Corp Has Lost $46 Billion in Value Since Declaring Support for LGBTQ Studies in K-3 Education
    April 23, 2022 | Sundance | 76 Comments”

    https://theconservativetreehouse.com/blog/2022/04/23/disney-corp-has-lost-46-billion-in-value-since-declaring-support-for-lgbtq-studies-in-k-3-education/

    And

    “Nolte: Woke Chickens Come Home to Roost at Disney, Netflix Twitter, CNN ‘”

    https://www.breitbart.com/entertainment/2022/04/23/nolte-woke-chickens-come-home-to-roost-at-disney-netflix-twitter-cnn

    Liked by 1 person

  6. another ian says:

    Pointy

    There is a poem of old concerning underpayment by a timekeeper of Aunt Sally faith. IIRC the refrain was

    “May that timekeeper stand in an Aunt Sally band
    And blow till his eyeballs turn black.
    May each note from his cornet turn into a hornet
    And sting him for five and a zac”

    (5 shillings and sixpence)

    Like

  7. JohnTyler says:

    Speaking of wokeism; every time the US women’s soccer team hits the field, I hope they lose.

    It pisses me off that these mostly pseudo-females (excuse my description of them; I am not a biologist, so I really have no idea what they are, but I will assume they are a human variant) choose to play for a team representing the USA, and then choose to kneel during the national anthem .

    Frankly, it’s OK to hate the USA. Really it is; we still have some unalienable rights in the USA (though they are rapidly diminishing.)
    But if you really hate the USA, please leave, permanently and renounce your citizenship. One would think that this would be a popular option for home grown hate-America-firsters, but so far it has not caught on, much to my chagrin.

    Colin Kaepernick , the black, former QB for the 49’ers, who was cut by them because he was not very good, has repeatedly called the NFL racist and akin to slave holders. Yet, he has repeatedly been trying to get back into the NFL.
    The logic of this escapes me.
    Maybe someone can help me understand this.

    Speaking of the multitude of genders now available at your local neighborhood retail establishment; ever wonder that when an individual seeks to medically switch genders the only two options sought for this sort of biological mutilation are results that produce (sort of) either a male or female?
    Haven’t we been told that there are more than two genders?

    Maybe a commentator on Pointman’s blog can enlighten me about this and please remember, I am not a biologist, so keep it simple.

    (OK, I will confess: long long ago, I had to take one year of biology in 10th grade.
    All I remember was pithing a frog; a procedure requiring jabbing a long needle into the brain of a live frog and twisting it about to mush the frog’s brains and kill it, at which point it’s easy to remove and label it’s internal organs, which are then pinned to a paper towel.
    I understand that these days, pithing a frog in high school involves jabbing the long needle into it’s sex organs so as to destroy it’s genetic/birth gender, thus allowing the new assignment of a socially constructed gender of one’s choice – or more precisely, a gender one is instructed to assign by their “groomer” teacher.)

    Like

    • philjourdan says:

      @JohnTyler

      Re: Women’s (???) Soccer – I am with you on that one
      Re: Colin K – your mistake here is to look for logic from the left. It does not exist.
      Re: Biology – fortunately I had an option – Electronics or Biology – I chose the former so I have never had a biology course and am no Biologist. 🙂

      Like

  8. Sarah Summers says:

    In my lovely rural neighbourhood, I am surrounded by big yellow placards calling for “Climate Action Now”. The power of pennies reminds me of my thoughts re this. Just don’t buy anything, ANYTHING, made in China. That is action.

    Like

  9. another ian says:

    Pointy

    O/T and FYI

    “Tony Abbott writes for India’s The Hindu newspaper on Russia’s war with Ukraine”

    https://www.michaelsmithnews.com/2022/04/tony-abbott-writes-for-indias-the-hindu-newspaper-on-russias-war-with-ukraine.html#comments

    Like

Leave a comment